What can we help you find? Check out our FAQs.
As a personal injury firm, we get asked a lot of interesting questions. Check out our FAQs and see what people are asking! If you have trouble finding what you're looking for, please let us know and we'll be sure to help!
- Page 4
Do I need to buy Personal Injury Protection Coverage (PIP)?
PIP coverage is not mandated by law but it is certainly highly recommended to have. PIP will cover treatment for injuries you sustained in an auto accident, up to the limit of your coverage with minimal deductibles and co-pay. This coverage is available regardless of who is at fault in the motor vehicle accident in question.
What determines the cost of insurance?
The cost of insurance is determined using an equation, which is the “base rate” multiplied by your “rating factor”. Your rating factor is your likelihood of getting into an accident based on your age, gender, marital status, driving record, area of residence, how much you drive, and the type of car that your drive. Insurance companies use statistical analysis to determine how all these factors figure into your likelihood of getting into an accident.
Do I need motorcycle insurance?
There is a minimum amount of insurance that is required by New Jersey law for motorcyclists to purchase and have. In general however, it is wise to have motorcycle insurance because motor vehicles are the most likely cause of significant injury to yourself or others. Buying insurance is also the best means of ensuring that you are able to take full responsibility for any mistakes made on the road.
What is a credit score and how is it used by insurance companies?
A credit score is a three digit number based on a review of your credit history and information. Insurance companies tend to use your credit score to determine your risk factor. A bad credit score is generally associated with a high risk personality. A good credit score in some cases can even ensure a lower premium.
What is a breathalyzer test?
A Breathalyzer test is used to measure one’s BAC, or Blood Alcohol Content, through their breath. A BAC is the percentage of alcohol that is in their blood stream. In Massachusetts and most states, the legal BAC level is .08%, for those who are under the age of 21, it is .02%.
A police officer must ask for your consent before having you take a Breathalyzer test. You are allowed to refuse the test, but a police officer can request a warrant to have you tested. However, if the officer does not go to a judge requesting for a warrant, that does not necessarily mean that you are off the hook either.
If you still have a DWI charge against you, you will still have to go to court, and unfortunately, the lawyer can use your refusal against you. Also, there is a fine that ranges from $300 to $500 with a 7 month license suspension for first timers, two years for second offenders, and ten years of suspension if it is your 3rd offense.
While the fine and license suspension for refusing to take a Breathalyzer test may be alarming, those who are convicted of a DWI have it even worse. Below is a table that ranges from first offenses to third with possible fines, jail time, and license revocation.
Up to 30 Days
3 months to 1 year
Up to 90 Days
Up to 180 Days
What is a lien and why is it on my property?
A lien is a claim that is on a property until the debt on that property has been paid off. A mortgage on your property is considered a lien. Any debts you may have, like a medical bill, could attach any properties you own and must be paid off at the sale of your property. If you have a mortgage on your property that mortgage is considered a lien. In short a lien is a debt that you owe to somebody that must be paid before you are able to sell your property.
Will my mortgage on my existing property be transferred to the new owners?
There are not many situations in which your mortgage will transfer to the new owners. It occurs if you have a transferable mortgage and the buyers agree to resume your mortgage. In most cases, however, you will have to pay off your mortgages before you are able to sell your property or at the closing of your real estate transaction. Be sure to review the language contained in your mortgage to learn what you are and are not able to do in reference to real estate transactions.
Am I responsible for closing costs?
As a seller, in New Jersey you are responsible for the realty transfer fee, which is a transfer tax that you must pay to the county your property is located in order to sell it. The transfer fee is based on the purchase price of your property. You are also responsible for paying your attorney fees, recording any mortgage releases, outstanding taxes, water and sewer bills, and any other liens that may be attached to the property.
I am not happy with the buyer's offer after contract of sale. Can I change it?
If you are selling a property and you get an offer from a buyer to purchase the property at a certain price and after agreeing to that and after the conclusion of the attorney review period you decide that you are discontent with the agreement, you will be unable to terminate the contract of sale. If you do not like the buyer's offer it is best not to accept it. Once you accept it and once the attorney review period has concluded you will be unable to change the terms of the contract of sale unless the buyer agrees to the same changes.
Can I cancel the contract after the attorney review period?
The buyer and the seller are able to terminate the contract of sale after the attorney review period if certain contingencies are not met. For example, if the inspection reveals defects and the seller is unwilling to repair and the buyer is unwilling to buy without the repairs, then the buyer or the seller may terminate the contract. With the mortgage contingency if the buyer is unable to gain approval for a mortgage then the buyer may cancel the contract. There may be other contingencies in your contract that will depend on the language contained in your contract and attorney review rider. In short there may be ways to terminate the contract of sale after the conclusion of attorney review.