New Jersey has recently issued an amended motor vehicle law regarding texting while driving. The law already in place had a ban on texting for all drivers and listed texting while driving a serious offense that comes with a $100 fine. The new measures, which will be in place starting tomorrow, July 1, will increase the penalties and make sure New Jersey drivers know texting while driving is against the law, even in traffic and at stoplights. The fine for a first offense will be increased from $100 to $200, a second offense will be $400, and three or more offenses will be a $600 to $800 fine. For the third offense and onward, a driver can have their license suspended for 90 days at the court’s discretion and gain 3 points on their license. The law, which was proposed by State Senator Richard Codey, is intended to increase the consequences of texting while driving to prevent texting-related accidents. Texting while driving according to SADD (Student’s Against Distracted Decisions) and Liberty Mutual Insurance Group. Cell phone use while driving accounts for 2,600 fatalities and 300,000 collisions nationally per year. Texting while driving is dangerous and can lead to untold consequences. Be safe and put your phone away!
Freidman, Matt. "Texting at a stoplight? N.J. bill would ban it." NJ.com. Advance Digital, 12 Nov. 2013. Web. 29 June 2014.
Independent Press. "New texting and driving law to take effect on July 1." NJ.com. Advance Digital, 26 June 2014. Web. 30 June 2014.
"Statistics | Don't Drive and Text Organization." Statistics | Don't Drive and Text Organization. Don't Text and Drive Organization, Web. 27 June 2014.